finally it seems that the strike in Bangkok airport has ended and that whithin the next few days regular air traffic will start again…after having spent 6 hours at the Thai Airways office today (with about 300 other people!) I am really R.E.A.D.Y. to leave!
the first 3 weeks were really great and the last 2 days I sqeezed in a short trek with great views of the Langtang Himalayan range and a beautiful sunrise on a mountain hill, but being stuck here in Kathmandu and going to the airline office and whereever they send you is really b.o.r.i.n.g. and t.i.r.i.n.g!
they are so NOT handling the situation well and definitely very unorganized so that some of the people got REALLY loud and ungemuetlich – and I have to admit that a lot of my Gelassenheit and peaceful mind got out of balance in the last week..but when you are ready to go you are ready to go!:)
THe only nice thing was that you meet the same people over and over again while you are waiting at the travel offices and there are really nice folks travelling here! the funniest thing today was a monch from the Ukraine who threatened to SUE (!) the Airline because of the situation…. and I thought monch are BALANCED!:))
Anyway, once you get far enough out of the city the hikes are really nice and the air is GOOD and it is peaceful… and the extremely long Himalayan mountain ranges are so impressive! all of the mountains range between 6.000 and 8.000 metres -they just don’t seem that high
it has gotten much colder over the last 10 days and my sleeping bag has become my best friend!
I can’t wait to show you the photos of those impressive places when I get back!:)))))

About Brita Graser

my biggest passion: travelling. That's why I created this blog - to share my adventures and experiences with of of those who have the same interest. enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Susanne says:

    Hey you, I just fel over your email beforey ou left and thought I should have a look where about in the world you are right now,thinking you will definately enjoy yourself. Now I learn that you are just loosing your balance- how come!!!! Hope you will get back into smooth travelling mood soon!! Im definately eager to see the pictures of all the places I never visited when you are back and will join you in your travel now and then on your blog. So long and enjoy!!! Susanne

  2. Chris says:

    Brita an update please! Need to hear more stories. Actually I\’m impressed with my ability to post this comment. It took me three times to convince the IT guys here that they should allow me access and this Windows Live account. They say it\’s because of the firewall. Whatever. As if everybody doesn\’t already know that the UN is the largest sieve in the world. Anyway, glad to be posting this comment now. Hope your days are going well and that you\’re experience a lot. That goes without saying, but hoping it is going really well for you now especially after your prolonged visit to Kat (with as much exhaust fumes as you would like!). Vienna is cloudy, wet, cold. Cannot see the 1st from my office window, which means its really cloudy (read: depressing) outside. Weekend of skiing begins this afternoon with a group from the office. We\’re going to Reiteralm, Zauchensee, and Obertaurn. Okay, am I writing too many useless things? Anyway, the Christmas lights are great here in Vienna — beautiful as usual although maybe some are getting over the top. The rest of Austria I guess is under snow. Okay, enough from me. Alright, sweet Brita, give us an update and pics soon. Big hug and take care. Chris (with fingers crossed that when I hit the "add" button this will work– I know, pretty lame!)

  3. wolfgang says:

    what is a week waiting? what is waiting? what is your journey? what is the sense of tavelling? you think you are not moving when you are sitting, waiting? what are you talking about? and, by the way: also the pictures can wait. they are used to. ;-)cheers, wolfgang

Leave a Reply

