I arrived  at my first destination today – Kathmandu! After checking in in a hotel in Tamel -the main tourist area – I explored the first Temple Swayabhunath – also called the monkey temple….and it did not take long  for me to understand why they call it that way: TONS of monkeys everywhere! just as we entered the temple area a little monkey snatched a Fanta bottle out of Mahesh’s hand (my Nepale guide with whom I will do my 9 day trek in the  Himalazan mountains starting in 3 days) and gracefully drank the  whole bottle empty! right after that incident I didn’t let go of my litle bag and my new nice shiny sunglasses!:))anyway – after climbing hundreds of steep stairs (my first test for the hike – YES- I made  – but barely and out of breath!:)) we arrived at the top of the hill where I saw my first impressive stupa (and some more monkeys!:)) – the atmoshphere there was really beautiful -especially after walking through the streets of Tamel where the pollution from cares and motorbikes is so bad that you can hardly breathe – seeing the monks in prayer, great handicraft along the paths and a great view over the Kathmandu valley (also covered in smog though) with only the very peaks of the Himalayan mountainrange peaking out of the smoky layer.
Tomorrow we will explore 2 more temples which are a bit outside of the main KAthmandu city area…and then in 2 days we start off to Pokhara – a 6 hour busride (fun!) – the starrting point for our trek. I will be back after the trek with a lot of news and photos in about 10 days and am looking forward sharing my experiences with you then!:) Namaste!

About Brita Graser

my biggest passion: travelling. That's why I created this blog - to share my adventures and experiences with of of those who have the same interest. enjoy!

One response »

  1. Franz says:

    Freut mich das Du gut angekommen bist!! Freue mich auf weitere spannende Geschichten!!

Leave a Reply

