..I just returned to Cairns from a 3 day trip to Cape Tribulation which in about 3 hours north of Cairns – and it is home o the world’s oldes rainforest! It was a really interesting experience and a big vostrast to my travel-stops I had so far in Australia. Unfortunately it was very cloudy and a bit rainy every day but that didn’t keep me from doing a guided rainforest-walk every day with local guides who explained TONS of stuff about the plants and animals of the area. I didn’t see too many animals (they sure know how to camouflage!) but the stories about the trees and plants were amazing though! My biggest success was spotting a 1.5 cm small scorpion during the night walk in the forest – this species doesn’t get bigger than 2 cm and they are not that extremely venomous. Apart from that I saw a few spiders and during the day walk we saw a so called dragon – a beautiful 50 cm big tree lizard. Oh, and during a river cruise we saw 3 biiig crocodiles, one was about 4.5 meters long – pretty big bugger, just lying around on a sandbank and not moving an inch! Life there is very quiet and relaxed and for the first time during my whole trip I had a hard time understanding the accent of some of the locals there (quite heavy!). I am back in Carins now and I will head to Mission Beach tomorrow for 2 days with hopefully more sun and some relaxing time on the bach (haven’t spent a single minute in the sun on the beach yet, no kidding!). So long, my friends, will give you an update in the next 5 days!

About Brita Graser

my biggest passion: travelling. That's why I created this blog - to share my adventures and experiences with of of those who have the same interest. enjoy!

One response »

  1. Franz says:

    Klingt ja uur nett, bin schon auf Fotos gespannt🙂
    lg Franz 

Leave a Reply

