Hi my friends! I am back from my first boot camp – DIVE boot camp that is – and it was the greatest week I ever had on the ocean! I call that week dive bootcamp because if you think that it was sunbathing, chilling out on the bar having a few drinks and then diving every now and then you must think the exact opposite to get an idea of what my week was: hard core diving from morning to evening – and it was simly awesome!!! the day started at 6 a.m. with the first breakfast, then dive number one at 7.15 a.m., followed by the 2nd (warm) breakfast, then dive number 2 at 10.15 a.m., then lunch at 12, dive number 3 at 1.15 p.m., little snak after the dive, then dive number 4 at 4.15 p.m., then dinner,a nd then for the maniacs who still didn’t get enough it was time for dive number 5 – night dive at 7.15 p.m…YES, we ate a lot of (excellent) food, but we burned every single calorie, because the water was a bit chilly, and the first 2 days the weather was really bad..and when you get in and out of a cold and wet divesuit your bodytemperature drops and you shiver like a madman! the last 4 days the weather was good again, but it winter here so the wind is blowing really hard and the sea is sometimes really choppy…I got to see more than I ever expected, and the ABSOLUTE highlight was a swim with a 6 Meter bid Minke-whale! it came right up to us and circled us for a few minutes – the best in-the-water-experience I ever had! Besides that I saw sharks on almost every dive, and the hightlight of the trip is a sharkfeed at a reef far offshore – where we encountered about 50 sharks which were too happy to munch on the chain decorated by the dive instructors with a lot of tuna heads…they went absolutely crazy and you got as close as 2 meters to them, absolutely brilliant! some other highlights were a feed of so called potato cods, those are huge grouper fish which get up to 2 meters and since they know that they are being fed by the divers they come up really close and look you straight in the eyes:)) So to sum it up – the diving was awesome, the boat was really fancy and we had a 10 people crew which was super-fiendly and funny and so we had a really good time. It was also fun to be with a bunch of divers from all over the world – a big part coming from Spain, so you can imagine that the atmosphere was quite easygoing and fun! I enjoyed every single minute on the boat and I wish the trip hadn’t ended already – it was simply breathtaking! for all my diving blog readers – here’s the link to the diveboat I went on and a bit about the trip www.spiritoffreedom.com.au. Tomorrow my travel continues, this time I am heading 2 hours up north to Cape tribulation to (hopefully) see some wild animals in the rainforest! More news in 3 days!:)

About Brita Graser

my biggest passion: travelling. That's why I created this blog - to share my adventures and experiences with of of those who have the same interest. enjoy!

Leave a Reply

